The Threeway: Top 3 Sci-Fi/Fantasy Couples (Janie’s Take)

Valentine’s Day. I’m not a huge fan of flowers or chocolate. My valentine got me a box of 3small9mm hollow-point ammunition for this holiday o’ love. So nobody should be very surprised that my choices for Top Sci-Fi/Fantasy couples are a little nontraditional.

#3: Flint and Lady Jaye in GI Joe I don’t know what is going to happen in the upcoming GI JOE: Retaliation movie between Flint and Lady Jaye.  I’m not thrilled about the actors playing either of these characters- especially Flint (D.J. Controna ain’t no Jai Courtney, plus has a name that sounds like dancing & drinking – which, Flint&LadyJayereally is not a problem for me, but still…)  Anyway, in the cartoon, they were obviously more than friends, but also always had each other’s backs. Plus Lady Jaye kicked ass.  Always.  Let’s hope for the same in the movie.

#2: Master Chief and Cortana in Halo 4.  I am not a true gamer by any sense of the imagination. But when my 11-year-old son begged me to get him Halo 4 (“The best game EVAR, Mom!!!”) a few months ago, I agreed – with the stipulation that I watch him play for a while to make sure it was okay.  Cut to 2 weeks later:  I am spending every spare hour playing (“Die you alien motherfu— um, you scum!!!”) the game with my son – addicted, akin to some sort of assault rifle-toting crack whore.

But what really got me (much to my son’s dismay – he has no time fhalo4-chief-cortanaor icky love) were the cutscenes showing the story between AI Cortana and Master Chief. It’s not romance in the typical sense of the word, but it is very definitely a love story. Cortana’s final sacrifice really was tear-worthy.  Master Chief says to her (in as much anguish as his visor will allow): I was supposed to take care of you. To which Cortana responds: We were supposed to take care of each other. And we did.

Love.

Buffy-and-Angel3_2#1 Buffy and Angel in Buffy and Angel. I couldn’t agree more with Anthony about this one. There’s no way this couldn’t be my top choice. This couple – this particular picture of this couple – is the reason I became a writer and chose to write romance. All-consuming passion, even when it tears your world apart.  Then growing up and realizing you have to walk away before it destroys everything about you.  Tragic. Awesome. Forever.

2 thoughts on “The Threeway: Top 3 Sci-Fi/Fantasy Couples (Janie’s Take)

Leave a Reply

