J.J. Abrams Confirmed to Direct Star Wars VII. Already Bringing a New Hope.

No3DWarsDespite my misgivings in my (decidedly solo) Threeway the other day; I’m glad that J.J. Abrams officially has the job to helm the Star Wars (don’t call them reboots) sequels. Will the tone be different than what we’re used to from the original trilogy? Definitely; but then so were the prequels and people are still trying to lynch Lucas over those.

And speaking of, there’s this gem from earlier today: Lucasfilm has postponed production on the 3-D versions of Episodes 2 & 3 so as to focus solely on production of Episode VII.

Even if the sequels are nothing but six hours of flashbacks and lens flare, J.J. Abrams has already done more to save the Star Wars franchise than anyone could have ever dreamed.

4 thoughts on “J.J. Abrams Confirmed to Direct Star Wars VII. Already Bringing a New Hope.

  1. I agree with the shelving of the 3D remakes (although, I’d see a 3D retofitting of the Original Trilogy). As for JJ…I’m not opposed to him, I just don’t think he was the best choice. If he were helming a SW TV show – I’d be elated. The problem is that his movies aren’t that good. NOW, they do set action pieces GREAT. So, I have hope. A New Hope. I’ll still be there at midnight opening night. I’m just trying to keep my enthusiasm at bay.

Leave a Reply

