After Oblivion

Just yesterday I was bestowing the awesomeness of post-apocalyptic imagery and movies with the “Oblivion” trailer. Today I probably need to take a lot of that back. Why? Because we get this new trailer for “After Earth.” And…yeah:

Ok, this looks bad. Not awful, and I guess it can be watchable but…eek. The biggest takeaway for me – M. Night no longer gets his name in the trailer. Hell, there’s not even a “from the director of ‘Unbreakable'” which appears on the poster. M. Night’s brand has dwindled so far it’s a liability in marketing. That’s harsh. That’s also good news because we get the “Do you know where we are? This is Earth.” line in the trailer. Thus, any twist is gone (I assume. Maybe there’s a “twist” to why Earth is a quarantined planet, but, whatever).

Interestingly…there is no post-apocalyptic imagery in this trailer at all. And, my interest isn’t that high. Would I like it more if there was a crumbling building in the background? Perhaps. Maybe if the base-jumping thing was from the top of a skyscraper I’d like it more (and then zooming through Times Square), but I doubt it. This just looks uninspiring (much like “Last Airbender” really).

Leave a Reply

