Nothing Can Stop the Mouse – Disney to Buy Your Childhood for $1

What do you love? What childhood property do you cherish?

The mouse wants it.

Strictly rumor-bait at this point (albeit rumor-bait from “very well-placed sources” who “are close to the parties involved”); Disney is reportedly in preliminary negotiations to buy Hasbro.

So Transformers, G.I. Joe, My Little Pony – huge chunks of the toy aisles – could soon be in the mouse’s gloved grasp.

It makes sense – Hasbro currently makes toys for both Marvel and Star Wars, so getting them “on board,” so to speak, is in Disney’s best interests. That Transformers and G.I. Joe – two of my beloved childhood properties could get swept up in the deal…well, neither has been treated all that well in the past few years, so maybe Disney could bring some order to the brands. Still…I’m wary.

6 thoughts on “Nothing Can Stop the Mouse – Disney to Buy Your Childhood for $1

  1. As much as it saddens me to see my childhood say Disney all over it, this is a smart business move for them. All us aging Star Wars fans, we’d pony up cash to visit a Star Wars theme park in a heartbeat.

  2. WOW! Apparently Bob Iger wants to make some BIG splashes before he (ultimately) steps down. If this happens he’ll have orchestrated the purchases of Pixar, Marvel, Lucasfilm AND Hasbro? He might be my new idol.

  3. Well, if the recent movie versions of Transformers & GI Joe didn’t taint your memories I don’t know what will 😉 I think Disney is a company that wants to be known for quality so I think all these new properties will at least have a good home.

    • Oh, don’t get me started on the Bayformers. I will rant so hard I’ll burn the site down. Joe, on the other hand, seems to be in good hands now. The first movie’s biggest offense was blandness (as opposed to juvenile humor, misogyny, and racism – oh, God, I can’t stop the ranting!). I am very excited to see what’s in store.

Leave a Reply

