The Threeway: Best Halloween Candies (Anthony’s Take)

Ah, October. That time of the year when the air turns cooler and a crisp Fall breeze sweeps away the crushing humidity and heat of the summer…

Wait, I live in Florida; the oppressive heat and crushing humidity never leave. So how then can I tell that October is upon us? Easy – the bags upon bags of candy choking the aisles! I might not get any sort of relief from the weather, but being able to steal these candies from my kid’s Trick-or-Treat bags at the end of the month at least take out some of the sting.

3) Ghost Dots are, sadly, but a passing memory now – I haven’t seen them for two seasons. These are the same as regular Dots; but minus the color-coding indicating which flavor is which. Oddly, I’m not a huge fan of Dots; but color them translucent green so that I can pretend I’m a Ghostbuster with a proton pack and suddenly I’m eating them by the handful. Tootsie really needs to bring these back!

2) Reese’s various holiday shapes always make it to the top of my list. The peanut butter to chocolate ratio of the Halloween Pumpkin reaches that inequitable distribution where the chocolate is barely holding its own and the saltiness of the peanut butter counteracts the sweetness. They’ve started shrinking this season, though, threatening their standing.

1) But all is forgiven, because Halloween means that I can finally find an assorted bag of Hershey candies that has Take 5 bars! These are by far the perfect candy bar. Ever have Chubby Hubby ice cream? It’s that; but in candy form. A pretzel covered in peanut butter, caramel, peanuts and chocolate – it’s salty, sweet, gooey, and crunchy all at the same time. The only problem is that I’m the only one who recognizes their candy superiority and they’re mostly gone from the shelves…except for October when they sneak back in. And, really, what better way to celebrate Halloween than with zombie candy?

4 thoughts on “The Threeway: Best Halloween Candies (Anthony’s Take)

      • To answer your question Adam, he quietly whispers to the last pretzel piece, “I saved you for last because you were the best.” He then scarfs it down and scurries to the tallest tree to bay at the moon

  1. I am a Take 5 fan as well (I promise, I am not Shed-A-Bed program fat, I just have varied dessert tastes) and I know for a fact that Target carries bags of Take 5, and only Take 5 so you don’t have to worry about other candy getting in the way. I have seen them a few times during the year but they are cheaper at Halloween. They are usually on the bottom shelves and I typically buy a few bags that last forever in the freezer. I learned my lesson a few years ago when i went on a search for the bags to put in my brother’s fiance’s stocking at Christmas and they were no where to be found.

Leave a Reply

