The Threeway: Best Horror Movies (Janie’s Take)

I have to admit I’m not a big horror fan.  Maybe it’s because I have four kids…. No torture Freddy Krueger devised could possibly be worse than the time all four of my kids had the flu and diarrhea at the same time and my husband was out of town.

That’s horror, people.

So, some of my choices may be a little non-traditional.

3) Silence of the Lambs. This movie just proves there doesn’t have to be aliens or monsters or hockey masks to scare the living crap out of you.  I never really thought of this movie as horror until last summer when I went to Madame Toussaud’s Wax Museum in Hollywood. One of the figures was Hannibal Lecter, just sort of standing by himself near a corner. They had footprints on the floor right in front of him  about 12 inches from his toes, indicating where you should stand.  Even knowing he was just a wax figure (and was not going to eat my face off like he did that poor prison guard) could not make me stand in those footsteps. Seriously, I could not make myself do it.

Hannibal Lecter is a monster in human form. Some may argue this movie is more a thriller than horror, but it definitely has some horror elements in it. Enough for me.

2) Zombieland. Because if you’re gonna get scared you might as well laugh while doing it.  I love this movie. I’ll admit I mostly love it because of the survival rules. I was hooked five minutes in with Rule #1: Cardio. The movie that launched a thousand running careers.

1) Let the Right One In. Not only is this a great horror movie, it’s a great movie in general.  I loved it so much I could not bring myself to watch the English remake (“Let Me In”) – so if someone has seen that please let me know how it is. This Swedish film is haunting and beautifully shot and painful to watch. The adolescent actors are a treasure. The horror is actually pretty subtle, but gets into your head and stays with you for a long time. If you haven’t seen it, you should, right away.

2 thoughts on “The Threeway: Best Horror Movies (Janie’s Take)

  1. Great list, Janie – “Let the Right One In” has been in my Netflix queue forever; but I haven’t brought myself to watch it yet! I’ll have to amend that.

    I wouldn’t have been able to face down Lecter either. There’s a reason that he won an Oscar for less than 2 minutes of screen time!

  2. Let the Right One In is fantastic. I recommend that people know nothing about it before watching. Go in blind. Great stuff.

    The US version is very good. It’s very, very similar. There aren’t any “mis-steps” in it. It doesn’t have quite the same feeling, but it is a worthwhile remake.

Leave a Reply

