Scooby Gets In the Ring

When I got married I pondered a Groom’s cake of a wrestling ring where Purdue Pete and George Jetson would be wrestling Luke Skywalker and Han Solo. It combined my love of movies (and “Star Wars” and “Indiana Jones” specifically) with my College Alma Mater, love of classic cartoons and on again/off again love affair with Pro Wrestling. Ultimately, I ditched the idea (to my wife’s delight). I figured, wrestling and cartoons shouldn’t mix (with the exception of the 80s classic series “Hulk Hogan’s Rock and Wrestling.”) The world agreed with this stance as well… until recently.

It was announced that WWE Films will co-finance the next DTV “Scooby Doo” movie. Not just co-producing – but co-everything. The WWE will be laying the Smackdown on Fred and team! Well, hopefully just Fred. Seriously, I’d pay money if Fred takes a Tombstone.

I’m not even sure how I should react to this news. The 10 year old inside of me is filled with glee . But every age since then is recoiling in horror. Mostly because I know that I’ll watch it. I’ll be driven to it. The Scooby Gang at WrestleMania? How can I not watch that? I don’t have that kind of will power. Of course, the entire time I’ll be cheering for someone to hit Fred with a chair.

 

Leave a Reply

